NAPS- National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme Guidelines

  1. Act 1961 regulates the program of training apprentices in the industry for on-the-job training.
  2. The National Policy of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship 2015 focuses on apprenticeship as one of the key program for creating skilled manpower in India
  3. Apprenticeship training is one of the most efficient ways to develop skilled manpower for industry by using training facilities available in the establishments
  4. Apprenticeship Training consists of Basic Training and On-the-Job-Training/Practical Training at workplace in the industry.
  5. The basic training is an essential component of apprenticeship training for those who have not undergone any institutional training/skill training before taking up on-the-job-training/practical training.
  6. The Apprentices Act, 1961 makes it obligatory for employers to engage apprentices in designated trades and in optional trades.
  7. There are five categories of apprentices
    1. trade apprentices,
    2. graduate apprentices,
    3. technician apprentices,
    4. technician(vocational) apprentices and
    5. Optional trade apprentices.
  8. Amendments in the Act in December 2014 allowed-
    1. industries to out-source basic training
    2. introduction of optional trades
    3. apprentices with a band of 2.5% to 10% of the total workforce,
      1. It is mandatory the minimum limit of 2.5% of the total manpower strength
    4. This includes contractual workers

National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme

The scheme is for,

  • Sharing of 25% of prescribed stipend subject to a maximum of Rs. 1500/- per month per apprentice to all apprentices with the employers.
    • The stipend support would not be given during the basic training period for fresher apprentices.
  • Sharing of cost of basic training with Basic Training Providers (BTP).
    • Basic training cost will be limited to Rs. 7500/- for a maximum of 500 hours/3 months.

Scope of the Scheme

  • This scheme shall cover all categories of apprentices, which are not covered under National Apprenticeship Training Scheme (NATS) administered by Ministry of Human Resource Development.

Options for the apprentices- integration with other schemes

  • Courses under Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY)
  • Modular Employable Skill (MES) under Skill Development Initiative (MES(MES(MES-SDI)SDI))
  • Courses approved by State Governments/Central government

Ease of Administering through technology

Online portal would be used for administering the implementation.

  • Facilities for Establishments
    • On-line registration
      • Declare apprenticeship seats/vacancies
      • Search & shortlist candidates specific to sector, trades, region etc.
      • Issue offer letters to candidates for engaging as apprentices
      • Submit contract of apprenticeship on-line for approval by respective RDAT/SAA
      • Monitoring of apprenticeship training.
      • On-line submission of returns and records
      • On-line submission of claims.
      • Online payment of Government share
  • Facilities for candidates
    • On-line registration indicating their sector/trades of choice
      • Sending application to potential employers for apprenticeship training
      • Online receipt and acceptance of offer letters from establishments
      • Process all necessary contractual obligations online.
      • Search and select Basic Training Provider (BTP) specific to sector, trades and region

Eligibility of Employer

Employer is any person/entity who has business in any trade or occupation

  • must fulfil the following:
    • engage apprentices in a band of 2.5% to 10% of the total strength of the establishment
    • must have EPFO/ESIC/Factory/ Cooperative/ MSME registration number
    • Employers must have TIN/TAN number
    • Must register on the apprenticeship portal.
    • must have an Aadhaar linked bank account

Eligibility of Apprentice

An apprentice is a person who has made contract of apprenticeship with the employer for apprenticeship training under the Act.

  • Apprentices can be engaged from the following categories:
    • Trainees passed out from ITI courses
    • Trainees under dual-learning mode from ITIs
    • Trainees who have completed PMKVY/MES -SDI courses or courses approved by State Governments/Central Government.
    • Graduates/diploma holders or pursuing graduation/ diploma in any stream or 10+2 vocational certificate holders (Apprentices who are not covered under NATS administered by MHRD)
    • Candidates who possess minimum educational qualification required for a trade and have not undergone any formal trade training (Fresher apprentices)
  • Apprentice must fulfil the following:
    • He/she has completed 14 years of age and fulfils other requirements of the Apprentices Act, 1961.
    • Every apprentice has to register on the portal.
    • Every apprentice must have an Aadhaar number.
    • Must possess minimum age, educational and physical qualification prescribed for the trade

Fields of apprenticeship training

Apprenticeship training can be provided to apprentices both in designated and optional trades.

  • Designated trade
    • Designated trade means any trade or occupation as notified by the Government. At present, there are 259 designated trades available for apprenticeship training.
  • Optional trade
    • Optional trade means any trade or occupation or any subject field in engineering or non-engineering or technology or any vocational course as may be determined by the employer.

Click to Register NAPS Now !

(You will be redirected to Official Page- )

Download the PDF to learn more about Acts and Guidelines

Apprentices Act 1961 (PDF)
Apprenticeship Rule 1992 (PDF)
NAPS GuideLines (PDF)
Guidelines for framing Courses (PDF)
Guidelines for BTP (PDF)
Guidelines for TPA (PDF)
Variant for BTP eligibility (PDF)